Discovering La Marché Des Lices

5 Sep

The Marché des Lices was F-A-B-U-L-O-U-S.

If you like markets, scratch that- if you like food at all, you would love the Marché des Lices.  I can’t wait to take my mom and sister there when they visit.  There is no way to explain how massive and amazing it is, other than to actually experience it.

I didn’t want to look like an utter tool, taking millions of photos, so I only snapped a few.  Here are the results:

P9040037
confiture

P9040040
P9040039

P9040044

There were even vendors making fresh crepes, to-order, while we waited.  It was my first truly French crepe and it was delicious!  I could hardly believe that it only cost €1!

P9040042

We even caught some tap dancers performing.  That was priceless.  It was probably one of those “you had to be there” things, so I wont bore you with the pictures.

One more amusing thing that happened today:

As Barbara and I were leaving the Carrefour, we discovered some sort of festival going on (practically in our backyard).  The best part: French country western linedancers.

No, you did not hear read me incorrectly.  FRENCH COUNTRY WESTERN LINE DANCERS.  There apparently is a group in Rennes and that is their thing!  They were performing and I had to get a couple pictures and a video, it was so priceless.  The funny thing was that they were so French the way they danced.  They were all dressed up (they even had God Bless America-type denim chambray shirts on!), but they showed very little enthusiasm, although I suppose the stoic look is one the French do best.  Here is the evidence (gotta love the guy in the back left):

P9040078

I’ll add the video once I get it uploaded to Youtube.

There is more to say (like always), but I just don’t have the time right now.  I need to clean up (myself and my room) before going out tonight.  Luckily, I’ll be able to sleep in and relax tomorrow, which means I’ll probably be able to write a bunch…but don’t hold me to that!

Have a fantabulous Saturday evening.

xxo

Leave a Reply

