Longchamp has always been the new black

23 Oct
Kate Moss & Gaspard Ulliel For Longchamp

Kate Moss & Gaspard Ulliel For Longchamp

Classic Longchamp bag in chocolate

Classic "Pliage Shopping" bag in chocolate

The ubiquitous (and thank god, because they are beautiful) Longchamp totes seem to be a fixture in the upper middle class fashion world in the United States.  So since it is a French brand, I really wasn’t too surprised at first when I noticed them E-V-E-R-Y-W-H-E-R-E in France, but then it hit me.  Here they are a basic staple, a necessity, that nearly everyone finds the money to possess. They aren’t a status symbol.  They serve a practical purpose.  I saw a group of children that were about 6 years old crossing the street in a big line holding hands a few days ago and some of these 6 year old kids were actually wearing Longchamp backpacks.  It’s just the way things are over here lol.

Right now, I’m seriously jonesing for a “Serviette” Longchamp bag…specifically, the Pliage.  I see students carrying them a lot because they are the perfect size for notebooks.  And at a little less than €50, it’s affordable.  I need to go into the Longchamp store in Rennes and look around, but right now I’m loving it in this purple shade:

Longchamp "Pliage" bag

Longchamp "Pliage" bag

What do you think?

xxo

5 Responses to “Longchamp has always been the new black”

  1. sleepeebee October 24, 2009 at 12:45 am #

    My dearest Cupcake,
    Yo, how are you? I have made my own blog because I wanted to comment on yours, but decided to just make a blog instead of only a username, so here I am. This is Sara btw.
    Love,
    SleepyBee
    (Like my name???? It was the only thing i could come up with that wasn’t taken).

  2. annhyphencharlotte October 24, 2009 at 12:25 pm #

    aww you’re so cute!! and you’re the first one of my friends (or family for that matter) to make an account! How exciting :) I can’t wait to check out ur blog!! The name sleepeebee is too cute, i love it.
    xxo

  3. annhyphencharlotte October 24, 2009 at 12:26 pm #

    p.s. what do you think of the bag? Should I get it?!

  4. martiwade February 8, 2010 at 9:04 pm #

    the way cool Longchamp bag I wanted that I thought I could only get in France…Meg and I saw at the Galleria in MSP
    hmm, now I don’t feel so bad that I came home without it and I also feel I can get by without it :D ah consumerism <3

  5. annhyphencharlotte February 10, 2010 at 11:10 am #

    awww. are you sureee?! im still keeping my eye out for it ;)

Leave a Reply

